TATA Division Sponsors Team Shark of Moratuwa University

Friday, March 25th, 2016

DIMO will be sponsoring the Engineering Students from the Mechanical Engineering Department of University of Moratuwa to participate in the world’s biggest student motorsport competition “Formula Student 2016” to be held at Silverstone Circuit in the United Kingdom in July 2016, organized by the Institution of Mechanical Engineering. Formula Student is Europe’s most established educational motorsport competition and is backed by the industry and high profile engineers. The competition challenges university student engineers from around the world to design, build and race a single seat racing car in one year in order to compete in static and dynamic events, demonstrating their understanding and testing the performance of the race car. Dozens of Formula student alumni have progress to Formula 1 and hundred more are now working at the world’s largest automobile firms helping to design and engineer the cars for tomorrow. Applications were received from teams around the world, and 156 teams have successfully claimed a place of the competition at the iconic Silverstone circuit, known to be the home of British Motorsport.

The team from the University of Moratuwa – TeamSHARK – will be the first ever Sri Lankan team entering the Formula Students competition and will be fully sponsored by the TATA Division of DIMO. The company will provide financial support to build the car and also send the team to race in July. Additionally TeamSHARK will be assisted in giving expert advice and guidance and will have complete access to the facilities at DIMO Siyambalape and DIMO Automobile Training School in order to build the car.

A press briefing was held on 24th March 2016 at the DIMO 800 auditorium and the MOU was signed by Mr Ranjith Pandithage and Prof K.K.C.K. Perera (Dean, Faculty of Engineering) and the witnesses were Mr Gahanath Pandithage, Mr Vijitha Bandara, Dr W.K. Wimalsiri (Head, Department of Mechanical Engineering) and Mr C.M.S.P. De Silva (Lecturer – University of Moratuwa).

Mr Sarath Algama, Mr Wijith Pushpawela, Mrs Dilrukshi Kurukulasuriya, Mr Nalinda Kurukulasooriya, Mr Mahesh Karunaratne, Mr Rakhita Gunasekera, Mr Rajeev Pandithage, Mr Rajiv Jaiswal (Country Manager – Tata Motors Limited), Mr Tharanga Gunawardena, Mr Jobst Ferber, Mr Yohan Thilakaratne and member of the DIMO Tribe were present at the event.

Dimo Logo